Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch in the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature is divided into two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate, just like the actual State Legislature. 


In OIL, the Senate is equally representative, where each delegation can have no more than six (6) senators, and the House of Representatives is proportional to the amount of students each college and university have enrolled.


The Senate is lead by the President Pro Tempore and the Deputy President Pro Tempore, though the Lieutenant Governor serves as the ceremonial President of the Senate, and the House of Representatives is lead by the Speaker of the House and Speaker pro Tempore.