Branches of O.I.L.

As a mock legislature organization, OIL is composed of three distinct branches of government, each with a different role.
The Executive branch is composed of the Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, and appointees. For more information on the executive branch, please visit the Executive Cabinet tab.

The legislative branch is composed of delegates to the House of Representatives and the Senate. Delegates are determined by college student population, therefore larger schools are allowed to bring more delegates as they represent more students.

The Senate levels the playing field: each school is allowed to bring 3 delegates and 3 alternates. Info on the House can be found under the House tab. And for the Senate, it can be found under the Senate tab.

The last branch, the Judicial branch, is our Supreme Court. The OIL Supreme Court hosts a moot court competition in which delegates compete. Additionally, the court adjudicates matters that arise from conflicts between branches, delegates, officers, or under the OIL Constitution or statutes. Court Information can be found under the Supreme Court tab.